Two Sides

This is the problem with a Politically Correct choice in the age of Binary Thinking.

The PC Crowd is smug, arrogant and nasty, as usual. After all, they are the superior beings and we neanderthals who aren’t “enlightened” are morons.

If I have to endure being called a “sexist” for the next year because I’m not of The Body and Not We I will probably go mad.

I want to give her a chance. I do. I want see what she can bring to the roll.

But if I have to suffer through a year of the PC crowd being narcissistic and childish I may not by next August.

As inevitable as the sun rising in the east, some dudes had a tantrum because women were allowed in on the fun for once.-UK Independent

HELLO! I know some WOMEN who are not happy with the choice either. You sexist! 🙂

They are their own worst advocate because they can’t get out of their own way.

“‘Doctor’ has no gender in English'”–Merriam Webster. Ah, gee, thanks Mom, I didn’t know that…

The Mary Sue:

But of course, there were plenty of people insisting that the casting was just to appease “SJWs” (read: fans with different opinions, the horror), rather than just a good choice. Those haters can feel free to take a seat.

So anyone who disagrees with the choice, eh? Very inclusive and Diverse bunch this lot.

Yes, I said that very thing, because SJW’s ARE The Politically Correct and yes, I do think The Beeb took the easily route and cast a woman because then they don’t get the wrath and fury of the SJWs on them at a time when they need that demographic to try and boost ratings.

Imagine for a moment, say a Man was cast. How much fire would be coming from the Left about how weak and nasty and evil the BBC was AGAIN ignoring them?  The situation would be reversed.

And the morally superior Left can’t see their own hypocrisy for the trees.

Haters: “Women are ruining Doctor Who!”
The first showrunner was Verity Lambert and she was cooler than most of us will ever be, go home.-Alan Sizzler Kistler

Did you not watch “An Adventure in Space and Time”?? Verity was derided horribly by everyone at the BBC because she was the first woman. She proved them wrong eventually. But that was the 1960’s so not a fair comparison to now since in the 1960’s liberals were all about Free Speech and De-segregation which they aren’t now.

Lot of folks who have never cared about Dr. Who before are suddenly very concerned. Maybe we should announce that climate change is a woman. –Carol Hartsell 

Oh, look, leftist politics, gee haven’t seen much of that lately… 🙂

But as satisfying as throwing all kinds of snark at whining misogynists may be, let’s not forget what’s really important here: this is important representation….

Chicks on The Right: (from that “moron” “hater” side)

I’ve already seen feminists beat their chests about how this means SO MUCH to little girls who’ve never been able to see themselves in the Doctor and now their self-worth is suddenly justified because someone with boobs is in the lead role. Which is the biggest load of crap ever. If your sense of self-worth as a female human being is dependent on whether a woman is playing a particular fictional character on TV, you need more help than a goofy sci-fi television show is able to provide.

To misogynists moaning about #Doctor13: You’re not the target audience. It’s aimed at children w/ grown-up minds, not the other way around.— Richard Littler

Very Tolerant and Inclusive of you, Richard, Thanks.

Actually, the overwhelming reaction I’ve been seeing (other than the people who are rushing to shame the imaginary misogynists) has been more along these lines –

You mean that people generally want to wait and see how things go? That they’re not immediately declaring the show ruined because a woman is playing the Doctor? GASP! What will we do with Constant Outrage now??

(I may be a fan of Doctor Who, but it’s other fans that make me want to punch something. With few exceptions, you will hard-pressed to find a bigger group of sanctimonious, whiny, self-righteous, virtue-signaling crybabies on the planet.)

For my part, I have the same attitude that I had with the last big casting change-over: I want to see what Jodie Whittaker does with the role before I decide if I like her or not. I also want to see how the writing goes and if it improves with the new showrunner and production team. The last season kind of felt old and stagnant and they really need to go in a different direction.

Fair opinion to express, don’t you think? Given that I don’t know much about Whittaker, I want to give her a chance to either impress or disappoint me before I make any judgements.

Though this line from this interview with her made me raise an eyebrow at the stupid (emphasis added) –

I want to tell the fans not to be scared by my gender. Because this is a really exciting time, and Doctor Who represents everything that’s exciting about change. The fans have lived through so many changes, and this is only a new, different one, not a fearful one.

Oh yes, because longtime fans are soooooo scared of a woman. Good grief. Give people a little credit for a change.

And there’s this completely moronic headline too: New Doctor Who star Jodie Whittaker shouldn’t have to defend herself for being a woman.

This does not bode well for my hopes that the next season won’t be one huge feminist conga line of “LOOK AT ME! I’M A WOMAN NOW! I’M SOOOOO PROGRESSIVE AND JUNK!” If that’s what we end up with, I’m out.

However, even though it’s too early to say for sure, I don’t think that’s where they’re going to go with this. And I’ll explain why: Unlike crap like Ghostbusters where the beat-you-over-the-head feminist message was a huge turn-off to audiences, the Doctor Who writers have actually taken steps to make this a possibility in-universe. And it’s not so much a feminist thing, as it is adding a new dimension to how the Time Lords work (which is what the Doctor’s alien race is called). There was some actual care and time spent to make this kind of change make sense.

So, I think we’re still going to have the same type of fun adventure stories of time-and-space travel. Just with an alien who is a chick rather than a dude. And in-universe, it works.

True, that’s not going to keep the rabid feminists from crowing about it.

It’s kind of like how feminists proclaimed that Wonder Woman struck a blow against the evil patriarchy and how men were suddenly put in their place because a woman-led superhero movie was successful. Except, there were TONS of men who loved the movie and were glad to see a DC superhero movie done right.

So much for drinking “male tears.”

I know – if I’m waiting for fans to exhibit a reasonable response to something like this, I’m going to be waiting a really long time. Doesn’t mean I can’t call everyone out on their stupidity and emotional pants-wetting. Like I said, I really like Doctor Who. It’s the fans that drive me crazy most of the time.

Now can we get on with it, or do Leftist have to strut around like Peacocks in heat for the next year making people sorry I want to give her a chance and so poison the well that it will not be possible?

The feminist browbeating that proclaims “You have to like this choice or else you’re a terrible human being!” – that affects people. That’s how you end up with all of these mindless Women’s Marchers in p*ssyhats demanding free abortion and birth control because the cultural feminists told them that’s how they’re supposed to be, without thinking about the consequences of it.

Mary Sue: There’s just no non-sexist reason to be upset about this—not one that makes sense, anyway.

Now that’s INCLUSIVE and tolerant, wouldn’t you say?

Your Choice.

peasachance

 

About mydoctor1962

Doctor Who fan like few others. Also a fan of Science Fiction, Cooking Shows and more.

Posted on July 18, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

