Rotten Apples

You’ve undoubtedly heard the phrase “a few rotten apples spoil the bunch”. Well, it’s a week before Gallifrey one (yes I known they have a pre-con on Thursday night) and this year it was spoiled.

Don’t know by whom exactly, but I’m guessing social media obsessed millennials.

This will be my 24th Gallifrey one (out of 28) and there has been a long standing (and until recently) implicitly understood videotapping policy that what was taped at Gally stayed with you. It was not shared with the world on Social Media. Hell, Social Media didn’t exist when the Con started in 1989. But technology and the social media/selfie obssesed have ruined it for the rest of us.

Video/Streaming & Photography Rules

As we noted several months ago, circumstances have forced us to change our policies regarding video-making and streaming video at the convention: Videotaping is no longer allowed in Gallifrey One program rooms (that is, any of our five main program rooms, noted as Program A/B/C/D/E on site). This includes digital recording, live-streaming, Facetime, or other methods of recording events at the convention for streaming or future playback — none of these are allowed! Attendees are welcome to use their cameras and smartphones to take photos, but no video or streaming; we will be enforcing this policy this year.  Thank you for your cooperation.

GRRRR!!! These are memories lost because of narcissistic idiots.

Photography and videotaping of other activities outside of the five program rooms, including general cosplay, hallway interviews, great moments with your firends, personal photos/video with the TARDIS, etc., are acceptable provided that subjects being videotaped consent to it and provided that it does not disrupt events or the flow of foot traffic. Should any convention guest or staff member request that videotaping of a particular item (such as autograph sessions or photo ops) be discontinued, attendees must comply with this request immediately.

Cameras and camcorders/video recorders are not allowed in the Art Show. Photography of art, model, toy and collectibles displays may be allowed with the permission of the Art Show Coordinator and the artist; contact the Art Show Coordinator for more details.

The Social media “hey look at me” have ruined it for the rest of us.

Sure, I like SOME social media, but i’m not obsessed with it 24/7 and have to sacrifice to it every second of the day.

Face it, I’m an old curmudgeon who technology has changed the world and I’m not happy about it because I liked it better when I could just part myself in the the big Room A at 11am and be there until 6pm happily watching and taping the people I came to see in the first place.

The John Hurt Panels I tape last year are precious to me, especially as I will never get another opportunity in this life. But I have a record of it.

Now, that’s changed. I can’t do that anymore because a few bad apples spoiled the bunch. They just couldn’t keep it to themselves.

And I’m not happy.

But a week from today I will still be at Gally. I will enjoy myself. I just won’t have the same memories as I have had in the past.

About mydoctor1962

Doctor Who fan like few others. Also a fan of Science Fiction, Cooking Shows and more.

Posted on February 10, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

