Regrets?

Doctor Who: Christopher Eccleston on series 1 regrets

The Ninth Doctor, Mr Christopher Eccleston, has spoken out about his troubles on the show…

Despite being the actor who brought the show back to our screens and starred in some truly great episodes, Christopher Eccleston only stuck around for one series of Doctor Who.

Now, in a candid chat with 774 ABC Melbourne’s Drive radio show (which CultBox shared), Eccleston has spoken a little about how it felt to leave the show when he did: 

“There’s always regret [to not continue] when you play a role like that because…. I watched it back and I thought ‘okay, don’t do this, do that, calibrate the performance’. It was kinda tragic for me that I didn’t play him for longer. […] He’s a beautiful character. I have a great deal of professional pride and, had I done a second season, there would’ve been a marked improvement in my performance. I was learning new skills in terms of playing light comedy. I was not known for light comedy and again production did not allow for that.”

Despite having fond memories of the programme and his progression and development, Ecclesston still quit, but he’s now explained his reasons for doing so.

“The first series of any show is always very difficult to sell to the audience and I’m very proud that through what was a really badly organised and certainly badly produced first series, I hope they have, they certainly didn’t acknowledge it at the time and I wish they would’ve done, because then things would have worked out very differently.”

Sour Grapes? Pining? Attention?

I don’t know.

 

About mydoctor1962

Doctor Who fan like few others. Also a fan of Science Fiction, Cooking Shows and more.

Posted on September 14, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

