Old Sixxie

Stephen Moffat said something inciteful in DWM #501 (I know Moffat haters, get over it).
He said that the real problem with the Sixth Doctor is that the Costume doesn’t fit the character.
And I believe he’s right.
More than any other Doctor this “totally tasteless” costume requested by Producer John Nathan-Turner is a complete mismatch for the character.
The snobby, but loveably so, Sixth Doctor who KNOWS he is the smartest guy in the room is not likely to be wearing something so “tasteless”.
Colin wanted something more like Eccleston got.
But he would have been fine a a more elegantly Pertwee fashion.
This is a case where the costume itself is a separate identity from the character, almost a character (or caricature) in and of itself.
So you’re left with the disjointed impression of the character and the clothes and miss the performance by Colin.
Mr. Moffat suggested you watch it in Black & White so the costume doesn’t distract you.
Interesting thought. But I didn’t let it distract me when I see his episodes anyways.
I like Colin’s Doctor. The bluster. The arrogance. The humor. The sensitivity. It’s all there.
But it’s hidden under a cloak of nauseating colors.
Like hiding a gourmet meal under a thick gravy sauce.
Fish and Cheese.
They just don’t go together and leave your palette with the wrong impression.
Just look at what Colin did for “The Five Doctor’s Reboot” and how genuinely he parodied the image.
Or the fact that he won the fan poll on Big Finish two years in a row.
On audio no one can see your coat!
“Rest is for the weary. Sleep is for the Dead” — The Sixth Doctor.
“A little gratitude wouldn’t irretrievably damage my ego.”
Borad: Do not make me laugh, Doctor.
The Doctor: I wouldn’t dare… not when you’ve got such big teeth.
“In all my travelling throughout the universe, I have battled against evil, against power-mad conspirators. I should have stayed here. The oldest civilisation: decadent, degenerate, and rotten to the core. Power-mad conspirators, Daleks, Sontarans, Cybermen – they’re still in the nursery compared to us. Ten million years of absolute power. That’s what it takes to be really corrupt.”

The One Doctor (Big Finish)

Mysterious Voice: [maniacal laughter] At last! I control everything! You are my pawns to do with as I please. You have no choice but to BEND TO MY WILL. Yes…. I own you… I… am your Creator. And I can be… your Destroyer!!
Mel: Honestly, Doctor, stop being so melodramatic!
The Doctor: Mel, am I not permitted an occasional moment of melodrama??
Mel: Yes, but it’s only a game of Monopoly!
The Doctor: A game… that I am winning! [maniacal laughter] Yeees, there is no power but mine! I control Park Lane… Mayfair… the Waterworks–
Mel: Doctor!!
The Doctor: I want to imagine what it feels like to be a power-crazed dictator! See into the enemy’s mind…
Mel: And??
The Doctor: Boring. And I hate hotels.
About mydoctor1962

Doctor Who fan like few others. Also a fan of Science Fiction, Cooking Shows and more.

Posted on August 17, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

