Michelle Gomez as Missy (Credit: BBC/Simon Ridgway)The nominations for the 2016 BAFTA Television Awards have now been announced, and actress Michelle Gomez has been been nominated in the Supporting Actress category for her role in Doctor Who.

The actresses up for this category are:

  • Eleanor Worthington-Cox, for The Enfield Haunting
  • Chanel Cresswell, for This Is England ’90
  • Michelle Gomez, for Doctor Who
  • Lesley Manville, for River

The BAFTA Awards take place on Sunday 8th May at the Royal Festival Hall, London, and will be broadcast live on BBC One.

Doctor Who‘s return to television garnered it both the Drama Series Award and Pioneer Audience Award in 2006, with its lead writer Russell T Davies also receiving the Dennis Potter Award; one of the key forces behind the show’s successful return, Jane Tranter, received the Alan Clarke Award in 2009 (presented by then Doctor David Tennant). In more recent times, current lead writer Steven Moffat received the Special Award in 2012, and the 50th Anniversary special, The Day of the Doctor won the Radio Times Audience Award in 2014.


Doctor Who has also been nominated in the BAFTA Craft Awards, with effects companies Milk VFX, Millennium FX, Real SFX, Molinare up for Special, Visual and Graphics Effects, a category the show has been nominated for every year since 2007 and receiving in 2009, 2014, and last year.

About mydoctor1962

Doctor Who fan like few others. Also a fan of Science Fiction, Cooking Shows and more.

Posted on April 6, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: