Not Again!

In response to the last round of whiny politically correct crapola about a female Doctor because Moffat threw them a bone in the Season Finale with the Female Regeneration and an all-female TARDIS Crew.

Let’s hear from the Doctor’s Wife:

Alex Kingston has admitted she would struggle with the idea of a female Doctor on ​Doctor Who​.

River Song’s alter-ego told press including ​Digital Spy ​that she can’t imagine our Time Lord becoming a Time Lady.

“It’s difficult – I would imagine that, if anything, the [next] Doctor might be of a different race than gender,” she said.

“I can’t imagine, myself personally, the Doctor being a different gender. I just think that too many men have played that role.”

 Kingston added that “if one goes back historically, ​Doctor Who ​has been a little boys’ show”.
“Women are going to hate me for this!” she laughed. “But I do think the Doctor has to be a guy – I do. Though it might be very interesting for River if it was a woman!”
Or Jack.
Now can the PC just shut the hell up!
Of course not… 😦
So we turn to a Male Companion, instead of traditionally Female and Peter Capaldi:

“With the best will in the world, I don’t want a bloke,” he says, “because I’m frightened that they’ll give him all the action and I’ll be standing around spouting scientific gobbledygook… ‘Oh, Peter’s not up to chasing those Zygons down the corridor, let the chap do it.’ And that would be awful. I want to chase the Zygons!”

He’s pretty clear that he doesn’t want to veer too far into old codger territory: “I’d like a bit of Jon Pertwee karate. A bit of Venusian aikido,” he laughs.

“I quite like the idea of classic Doctor Who, which I must probably identify as Jon Pertwee or Tom Baker. Which is Jon Pertwee with Katy Manning and Elisabeth Sladen; and Tom Baker with Elisabeth Sladen – I just think that combo of the slightly strange and alien Time Lord with the intelligent, enthusiastic and inquisitive girl is a good combo. I don’t know why – but it just seems to work.

“And also [the male-female partnership in Doctor Who] has no romantic component, so I think it allows both characters to operate to their full extent. They’re never taken into a cul-de-sac of romance.”

But judging by Capaldi’s comments in the Radio Times Christmas issue and Moffat’s assertion that he’s looking for an “actress”, perhaps a male companion will have to wait until the next regeneration.

Ok, now are we done? 🙂

 

About mydoctor1962

Doctor Who fan like few others. Also a fan of Science Fiction, Cooking Shows and more.

Posted on December 8, 2015, in Doctor Who, Science Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

