Death is Cheap

Has Death in Doctor Who come cheap?

I was prompted to thing about this by another fan broadcast, Afterbuzz TV.

Has death become somewhat more cavalier than it should?

This gets a bit maudlin..just so you know.

Oh sure, Missy killed a few UNIT soldiers in the last episode, but also the Moff killed Missy and Clara in rapid succession and we know they’ll be back, if not next week, the week after that, at least for Clara. She’s not slated to go away just yet.

And life just doesn’t work that way.

My dad passed away on Aug 29th. He’s not coming back. Nor my mom, 5 years ago in 4 days.

Nor are many of the people of my youth.

As my Dad said about having a funeral, ‘Why? Everyone I knew (except family) is dead”.

Now that may be a bit more maudlin than my point but is death cheap in Doctor Who?

Clara, The Impossible Girl, died twice before even becoming a formal companion of The Doctor.

Rory, was Kenny from South Park, for the longest time with his constant deaths. He even got wiped out of existence than came back for explained reason. It just was.

Amy & Rory died in “Angels take Manhattan”- Twice!

Is it too cavalier? is there no shock value left?

I’d say yes.

After all, when Clara was killed by the Dalek, after the shock of a couple of seconds what was your immediate reaction after that, “oh, but she’s in the rest of the series”.

It’s not she’s a Red Shirt in Star Trek or something. 🙂

But is this over used because it a time travel show and we can all just all timey-wimey.

I may have a different opinion tomorrow afternoon when I see the conclusion of this episode but the overall question still remains, Is Death too Cheap these days?

There’s no Timey Wimey going to bring my Mom & Dad back.

Leonard Nimoy, Mr. Spock!

Martin Milner, ADAM-12. One of my favorite shows as a kid.

Yvonne Craig. The first crush on a female I had ever had.

James Best, Roscoe P. Coltrane, The Dukes of Hazzard. One of my favorite shows of all-time.

Rowdy Roddy Piper. I was a wresting fan in the mid-80s. Plus the movie “They Live” is a great flick.

Patrick McNee, John Frickin’ Steed!

Dick Van Patten, one of the great TV Dad from a much less cynical, dysfunctional age.

Gary Owens, the voice of my childhood in cartoons and tv shows.

There’s no timey-Wimey here. And that’s just THIS YEAR.

I’m sure it’s just me, and my mental state after my Dad’s passing but I still have to ask, Has death become to cheap in Science Fiction, TV, and Doctor Who in particular?

The thrill is gone for me, at least for the moment.

Why does the Doctor spend this whole episode so certain he’s about to die?

I mean, the Doctor is always about to die, right? There’s always some prophecy or vision or visitor from the future telling us when and where it is going to happen. During the tenure of Eleven alone, we saw him die in Utah to fulfill one prediction, and then we visited his grave at Trenzalore to chase down another. And yet here he still is, surviving to journey on. Somehow this time, however, when he gets the premonition that this is the end, he takes it very seriously. (Observer)

And give then titles of the rest of the series this may not be the last time.

On the other hand, remember that the story of the Magician’s apprentice is a story about a child who tries to use the master’s magic but loses total control of it. Little-boy Davros didn’t just see a man who ran away; he saw a man who gave him the tools to survive—his sonic screwdriver, but also the faith that he could get through this danger, if he believed that he could. Survive he did. And then he went on to use this will to survive to create the Daleks. To alter beyond all recognition the tools the Doctor gave him, in order to found the ultimate race of survivors. Who are also, perforce, the ultimate killers. (Observer)

Maybe my maudlin mood will pass tomorrow. Maybe not. We’ll all find out tomorrow.

About mydoctor1962

Doctor Who fan like few others. Also a fan of Science Fiction, Cooking Shows and more.

Posted on September 25, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

