Four Doctors #1

I just read it yesterday. Paul Cornell is a very good writer and quite the classic fan boy.

***SPOILERS***

…………

………….

……………

………………

…………………

I mean who else would use Marinus, an obscure 1st Season Hartnell episode as the plot point in the story.

The bloody Voord!!

I wonder how many NuWho fanatics had to google them to find out what they hell was going on? 🙂

Then Clara tries to prevent them all meeting and ends up being the CAUSE OF them meeting. Loved it.

Companions from various Doctors rarely get to chinwag with each other. They sure as hell didn’t get much more than a sentence or two in “The Five Doctors”.

But, my one criticism was that I felt that the Matt Smith’s 11th Doctor was a bit off.I have been trying to think why that thought just kept popping up over and over again and I just lay my finger on it.

And also when they met Capaldi’s 12th I did wonder about in “Deep Breath” where the 11th on the phone to Clara from her past said, “Tell me I didn’t get old”.

(Paraphrase): “So we just caused a paradox at a fix point in time?”

My brain screamed “Reavers!” just as they appeared on the page.

Look forward to #2

*************************

Courtesy of Titan Comics:

BBC Fan Q&A with Doctor Who: Four Doctors writer, Paul Cornell:

Question from Floris:

WHAT IS A MODERN DOCTOR WHO MONSTER THAT YOU WOULD

HAVE LOVED TO SEE MATCH UP WITH A CLASSIC DOCTOR?

Paul: I think the Second Doctor would have a lot of fun running rings

round the Judoon.

Question from Julie:

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE DOCTOR WHO STORY ON AND OFF TV?

Paul: On TV, I think it’s ‘Kinda’, this week anyway.  Off TV, I’d go for

one of Kate Orman’s New Adventures novels, probably Sleepy.  

Question from Chris:

IF YOU COULD DO A COMIC FOR ANY OF THE CLASSIC DOCTORS,
WHICH ONE AND WHY?

Paul: I’d love to do a Third Doctor comic, with all the UNIT stuff

widescreen and huge.  That’s the one case where I don’t think the

limitations of the TV show of the time should be applied to the comic,

in order to keep the style right.  The TV Pertwee era tried for big use

of vehicles and extras, and we can just do that a bit better in comic form.

Question from Alice:

WE’VE HEARD A LOT ABOUT HOW THE DOCTORS ARE VERY SIMILAR

ON SCRIPT AND IT’S THE ACTOR’S PORTRAYAL THAT GIVES THE

BIGGEST DIFFERENCE IN DELINEATING THEIR DOCTOR. THIS IDEA HAS

BEEN REINFORCED BY HAVING VARIOUS ACTORS WHO HAVE

PORTRAYED THE DOCTOR READING MATT SMITH’S SCRIPTS. HOW DO

YOU GO ABOUT DIFFERENTIATING THE DOCTORS WHEN IT IS IN

COMIC BOOK FORMAT?

Paul: It’s the writer’s job in a book or comic to bring all the tics of the

character, to do the acting as well.  I’m not sure that ‘all the same

dialogue’ thing is true for all Doctors.  I can’t imagine Troughton saying Capaldi lines.

Question from David:

WHICH OF THE FOUR DOCTORS DO YOU ENJOY WRITING FOR MOST?

Paul: It’s a joy to surprise myself with what comes out of the Twelfth

Doctor’s mouth.  Such an infinite well of new material.

Question from Joel:

IF YOU WERE A COMPANION TO THOSE FOUR DOCTORS AT LEAST

ONCE EACH, WHERE/WHEN DO YOU THINK THEY WOULD TAKE YOU

TO OR WHAT SORT OF ADVENTURE COULD YOU SEE YOURSELF IN

WITH THAT DOCTOR?

Paul: Phew, err, I think I’d avoid the War Doctor, marry the… no, wait

a sec.  I wouldn’t want to travel with anyone fighting in the Time War,

so I’d like to go exploring history with the Eleventh.  I couldn’t keep up

with Ten.  I wouldn’t mind being part of one of Twelve’s teams of

mates for some sort of heist.  

Question from George:

WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO PEOPLE TRYING TO WRITE A

DOCTOR WHO STORY?

Paul: Sort out your ending first.  Use the shape of your plot to explore

some aspect of character for your leads.  Challenge the characters,

surprise them, hurt them.  

Question from Josh:

I JUST HAVE TO TELL YOU, I LOVED FATHER’S DAY SO MUCH AND

THE HUMAN NATURE 2 PARTER. QUESTION TIME – WHAT WAS YOUR

FAVORITE EPISODE FROM CLASSIC WHO AND WHY? IF I CAN SQUEEZE

A SECOND QUESTION IN, WHAT WHO BOOK AUTHOR DO YOU ENJOY

READING THE MOST?

Paul: Ah, well, it was ‘Kinda’ earlier, but now it’s become ‘The Mind

Robber’… no, ‘Horror of Fang Rock!’  And I love reading Kate Orman’s

books.  But I already said that, so, Jac Rayner!

Question from Pam:

DO YOU APPROACH WRITING DIFFERENTLY WHEN YOU ARE WRITING

FOR A COMIC VS ONE OF YOUR NOVELS OR SCREENPLAYS? I 

LOVE YOUR WORK!!!

Paul: Oh yes, and thanks, it’s a whole different set of rules.  You have

to get your head in order to write each different medium.  It takes

changing gears.  

Question from Jeffrey:

PAUL, WHAT IS THE ATOMIC WEIGHT OF THORIUM?

Paul: 232.03806 u ± 0.00002 u

Question from Jose:

WHICH OF YOUR VIRGIN NEW ADVENTURES WAS YOUR FAVORITE?

Paul: Love and War, I think.  

Question from Dylan:

HOW PROUD ARE YOU OF THAT “LAPELS THING” JOKE? BECAUSE YOU

SHOULD BE!

Paul: Thanks!  Very proud!  I’m very proud of the whole comic,

honestly.  I think it’s one of my best Doctor Who stories.

About mydoctor1962

Doctor Who fan like few others. Also a fan of Science Fiction, Cooking Shows and more.

Posted on August 15, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

