Female Doctor– Can of Worms

Anyone who has read my blog know how I feel about this topic. Fair warning.. **POLITICS ALERT**

Doctor Who star Sylvester McCoy says the Time Lord should never regenerate as a woman.

The actor, 71, has dismissed suggestions the time traveller could be played by a female.

He said: “I’m a feminist and recognise there are still glass ceilings in place for many women, but where would we draw the line? A Mr Marple instead of Miss Marple? A Tarzanette?”

Sylvester, the seventh doctor between 1987 and 1989, added: “I’m sorry, but no – Doctor Who is a male character, just like James Bond. If they changed it to be politically correct then it would ruin the dynamics between the doctor and the assistant, which is a popular part of the show.

I agree completely. What’s next, remake Aliens with a Male Ripley? Mary Poppins with Denzel Washington? (or even better Caitlyn Jenner??)

I know, Terminator VI, Sarah Connor is played by Arnold Schwarzenegger!!

Catwoman played by Chris Rock!

Princess Leia played by James Corden!

Scarlett O’Hara played by Will Ferrell. And Rhett Buttler played by Whoopi Goldberg (to be really “progressive” where the plantation owner is black woman!!)

“Rhett, Rhett… Rhett, if you go, where shall I go? What shall I do? “
Rhett Butler: Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.

Have I made my absurdist point yet?

“I support feminism, but I’m not convinced by the cultural need of a female Doctor Who.”

The show’s writer Steven Moffat ignited the debate last year when he said the doctor could be a woman. He added: “We’ve been laying in the possibility for an awfully long time, but you don’t cast that way. I know I’m going to get in trouble for saying that – you cast a person, you don’t cast the gender.”

Unless you’re Politically Correct and want to make “a statement” then you do for the sake of doing it, regardless of the consequences. Your sanctimony is in tact.

“The first female….” is the only selling point and the only reason. Really?

  • The goal is more important than the damage attempting to achieve it causes along the way.
  • Never focusing on the possible consequences, but only focusing on the goal. Unfortunately, for Wile E. Coyote, a Mac truck, a train, an explosive rocket, etc. bring the reality of the lack of ability to see all possible consequences into the picture.  For liberals, the realities of human nature and economics seem to elude them, as they seem to think that this ACME product will work this time, and that their “super genius” will exert control over what is uncontrollable.

Fifth doctor Peter Davison said in 2013: “If you make the Doctor a woman you’ve effectively just said, ‘Well let’s give you a sex change.’ I don’t think that works.”

Michelle Gomez as The Master works because

a) The Master is not The Doctor, that character is the “arch nemesis” so they are allowed to do just about anything.

b) She’s a fantastic actress.

But it’s still not the Doctor.

Think of it this way, Sherlock Holmes.

Do you want to replace Bernard Cumberbatch with, say Karen Gillan?

Carol Burnett as Capt. Kirk, for more than just one comedy sketch. (there was a comic book series last year I know, I didn’t read it, but that’s a comic book not the TV show or Movie.)

Has Sherlock Holmes ever worked as a Female?

Watson being female was “controversial” when Elementary cast Lucy Liu.

But Ms. Liu is a fantastic actress. They had a reason for it that had nothing to do with PC.

And she’s THE SIDEKICK!  She isn’t Sherlock!!!

I’m still unhappy with Starbuck being cast as a Woman in the re-booted Battlestar Galactica. I watched that show for 2 1/2 years and I never saw the reasoning behind Starbuck being a woman. Katee Sackhoff is a good actress but still, it seemed to be done just be done.

Same with Boomer.

But again, NOT the main character, again it’s the Sidekick.

Adama, as a Woman? Apollo as a Woman??

Don’t think so.

Remember how bad, Mrs. Columbo was?  I do. Even if it starred Kate Mulgrew.

Doing it for the sake of proclaiming you did it heedless of any consequences is a stupid thing to do. Period.

But it sends a thrill up the leg of the PC Crowd.

The rest of us just have to deal with the damage.

This isn’t a “War Doctor” that effectively messes with arithmetic (1…2…3…4…5…6…7…8…War…9…10…11…12…).

So what if Actress X is “perfect”, should you do it?

NO.

Some things should just be left alone.

Especially, kept away from the PC crowd.

That’s just my opinion.

About mydoctor1962

Doctor Who fan like few others. Also a fan of Science Fiction, Cooking Shows and more.

Posted on July 23, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m a woman, feminist and I agree with you! I don’t understand this need to change male to female established characters. I would rather that though and strong roles were made just for women.

    I don’t want a female Doctor, nor am I entirely convinced that doing a female Ghostbusters is a good idea (just saying).

  2. I agree, and lost a “friend” on Facebook because of my opinion. If they want to make a spinoff show for, say, the Doctor’s Daughter Jenny, I’d be all for that and watch it voraciously.But you don’t need to be messing with the Doctor like that. I am convinced that would kill the show and quite frankly, I think the BBC knows this and so it won’t ever actually happen.

    • At this point the only way it will happen is if the PC crowd really pressures the BBC and the successor to Moffat gives in. Then it will break the show and all we’ll have are fond memories.

Leave a Reply

