Spoilers!

In case you missed it because they edited it to death, Doctor Who’s latest Music Video:

And pay attention, their are blink-and-you’ll miss them spoilers ๐Ÿ™‚ included.

 

Which brings me to the topic of spoilers.

I am one of those people that subscribe to the “I know one when I don’t see one”. Meaning sometimes spoilers are ok, but most of the time, not.

I didn’t download the leaked scripts or videos of this season’s first 5 episodes when they came out. I studious and steadfastly refused to watch them when offered also.

BUT

Part of the thrill of “Asylum of the Daleks” is when Jenna (Louise) Coleman appears on screen as Oswin Oswald, not Clara. You had to have the “spoiled” foreknowledge that she was the actress who was going to play the companion after The Ponds’ left to get the thrill.

If you didn’t know she was next companion, this nugget would mean nothing to you and you’d be confused by a certain Victorian Bar maid months later at Christmas.

Could you even manage to avoid all the clamor of Peter Capaldi’s casting announcement from August 4th, 2013 to the actual airing of the first episode over a year later on August 23rd?

You can’t unsee a spoiler. So I try to be selective about mine.

But I’m not perfect. As has been mentioned before I saw the leaked copy of “Rose” at a Doctor Who fan club meeting 3 weeks before it aired in 2005.

I must say, I was honestly underwhelmed for some reason back then. Watching it again when it aired on the BBC I was much happier. So in that case the spoiler was a determent to my enthusiasm.

Now, mind you that Season was not aired officially in the US until 2006.

Spoilers! ๐Ÿ™‚

I routinely have seen the episode prior to the Doctor Who meetings (see Keith Toppings’ “Fairies” ๐Ÿ™‚ )so when I watch it with friends generally it’s already spoilt for me in a since.

The exception to the was “Deep Breath” where that was made Event TV.

Take the $10.2 Million dollars Doctor Who took in at the Theatres last year, showing The Day of the Doctor largely (and possibly exclusively) to a spoiled audience.

I also am a regular watcher of a You Tube episode commentary series where the person in question is watching Doctor Who from 2005 onwards and has never seen it before (nor seen the Classic old Who) and getting a new perspective on episodes I have watched before.

I also get a perverse thrill out of being River Song and laying out cryptic notes that aren’t spoilers per se, more like teasers. Things like “Coming Next: David Morrissey as The Doctor” when he at least knows that Matt Smith is the next Doctor and watch the reaction. I don’t want to actually spoil it for him.

I (and other apparently) kept saying “Spoilers!” all the time up until Silence in The Library and he did wonder why. ๐Ÿ™‚

I waiting for “And he will knock for times” ๐Ÿ™‚

So yes, I’m all over the board with spoilers. That’s why I go with the “I know one when I’m offered one” and pick and choice capriciously which is which.

So in that vein, here’s something forย  you to chew on:

 

About mydoctor1962

Doctor Who fan like few others. Also a fan of Science Fiction, Cooking Shows and more.

Posted on October 13, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

