Daily Archives: June 14, 2014

The British Empire

Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

This is awarded for a significant achievement or outstanding service to the community. An MBE is also awarded for local ‘hands-on’ service which stands out as an example to other people.

And Doctor Who has to alumni who are know named to this rank.

Torchwood star John Barrowman has been awarded an MBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Entertainer John Barrowman has been awarded an MBE.
Entertainer John Barrowman has been awarded an MBE. Credit: PA

The 47-year-old Glasgow-born entertainer, who has also hosted TV shows and enjoyed a successful West End career, has been honoured for his services to entertainment as well as his contribution to charity.

He declared: “I’m going to enjoy it for the rest of my life.”

“It’s one of the proudest things, thus far, that has ever happened to me,” he added. “I never expected to get an honour like this. You hear about other people getting them but never expect it yourself.”

He went on: “I am completely honoured by it, I’m proud to be a British subject, to be part of Great Britain, to be honoured by the Queen and for it to be run through by the Government. I am absolutely thrilled and had no hesitation at all in accepting.” (ITV News)

Julie Gardner, who helped bring Doctor Who back in 2005, joins fellow Whovian alumni John Barrowman in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list and says her father ‘will be the talk of Glynneath’ on hearing the news.

Julie Gardner, the television executive behind Doctor Who, who has overseen a revival of film and television production in Wales has been awarded an MBE for services to television and for her contribution to industry in Wales.

Neath-born Gardner said: “I am honored to accept this award. I have filmed all over the world. But the talent, stamina and sheer fun of the writers, cast and crews I’ve worked with in Wales is beyond compare.

“I am lucky; I get to keep this award. But I am accepting it for all those brilliant people who have made my job such an absolute joy, and for my dad who will be the talk of Glynneath!

 

“My proudest achievement has been to successfully bring Doctor Who to Wales.

“From there, through Torchwood, Casualty and Da Vinci’s Demon’s, Wales’ position in the global television industry goes from strength to strength. I am hugely proud to have been a part of that journey and will work hard so that this is just the beginning.”

 

Doctor Who creator Russell T Davies, said: “Julie Gardner has transformed the lives of so many people, and put the Welsh creative industries on the worldwide stage. 

“I used to dream of bringing Doctor Who back, but she took those dreams, made them real, and made them better than I ever dared imagine.  And then she made all of her staff dream bigger and better than ever before. 

“She’s an inspiration and a joy and, as she would like to say, a ‘hoot’!”

 

Actor Michael Sheen added: “Julie Gardner really has been like a force of nature in the way she has helped to revitalise the entertainment industry in Wales. Creating some of the best television content in Britain, supporting a whole new infra-structure, inspiring all around her and even unknowingly providing my Dad with a day job as an extra on Da Vinci’s Demons!

“I have a lot to thank her for.”

As Head of Drama Commissioning and Head of Drama for BBC Wales, she was responsible for spearheading the revival of Doctor Who, as well as the successful series, Torchwood and The Sarah Jane Adventures.

 

She also led the production of an unparalleled string of hit dramas including Life on Mars, Ashes to Ashes, Being Human, Girl in a Cafe, Stuart: A Life Backward, Mistresses and Casanova, for which she received a multitude of awards.

 

Currently based in LA – she is responsible for scripted drama development for BBC Worldwide Productions and is Senior Vice President for Adjacent Productions creating new and unique dramas for US networks.

 

In bringing the Starz series Da Vinci’s Demons to Wales, Julie was responsible for creating the UK’s largest studio in Swansea Bay.  Bay Studios has now housed two series of Da Vinci’s Demons with a third series currently in development.

 

Other notable names on the honours list with links to Wales include entertainer John Barrowman, who has a home in Sully, Vale of Glamorgan.

The Torchwood star said he was thrilled by his award of an MBE and declared: “I’m going to enjoy it for the rest of my life.”

Barrowman, who has also hosted a number of TV shows and enjoyed a successful West End career, has been honoured for his services to entertainment as well as his contribution to charity. The 47-year-old said: “It’s one of the proudest things, thus far, that has ever happened to me.”

“I never expected to get an honour like this. You hear about other people getting them but never expect it yourself.”

He added: “I was signing autographs on a Saturday about two months ago and my manager Gavin just went ‘oh my God’.

“I thought maybe something was wrong and he said ‘you’re getting an honour’.

“I just stood up and thought ‘how can this be, what have I done?’.”

Speaking from Sydney, Australia, where he is promoting his drama series Arrow, he admitted: “It was the hardest thing to keep quiet – I just had to keep my mouth shut.

“I am completely honoured by it, I’m proud to be a British subject, to be part of Great Britain, to be honoured by the Queen and for it to be run through by the Government.” (Wales Online)